Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

Welcome to Southend! August 23, 2008

Filed under: Random — Sarah @ 2:45 pm
Tags: ,

I’m finally here! Think I had gotten to the stage where it felt like I was never actually going to move but I am here and unpacked and it’s beginning to feel like home.

When we were driving into Southend I thought that I was never going to find my way around but so far so good! I can now get to town and back and have found most of the important things . . .still have no idea where the church is though without Paddy the sat nav but I’m working on it!

And weirdly, yesterday my first vistors to ring my doorbell were Catholics trying to convert me!! Their main point seemed to be that I was missing out in my relationship with God by not asking the Saints (especially Mary) to pray for me. How can I be when I can talk to the God of the universe directly and I have his spirit in me?! A random first meeting with Southenders but a good reminder that God is still God in Southend!

 

2 Responses to “Welcome to Southend!”

  1. Gareth Says:

    How random – no religious people ever troubled me. Good answer though.

    Walking to church is a lot less complicated than driving. Good luck! Hope you enjoy your first Sunday!

    G

  2. Jane Says:

    Hi Sarah!

    I am really glad that you have safely arrived amongst us! It will all feel a bit strange at first but you will soon feel as if you have been here forever! I am looking forward to finally meeting you!

    See you soon!


Leave a Reply

