Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

It is well with my soul September 10, 2008

Filed under: Random — Sarah @ 4:07 pm
Tags:

Came across this old hymn, which is amazingly encouraging and even more so knowing the the writer wrote it just after osing his four daughters, which was the last in a chain of events that lost him his son and life investments. How great that all was well with his soul!

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=T8_EfDqF7YI

 

One Response to “It is well with my soul”

  1. Scotty Bennett Says:

    Good morning (at least it is morning here 🙂 ) Sarah! “It is Well with My Soul” is a hymn we sing quite often over here–it is one of my favorites! There is another hymn that has powerful words to it, and I haven’t heard it sung often. Someone sent me the words when I had cancer several years ago, and I love them. The name of the hymn is “God Moves in a Mysterious Way” and John Piper has written a book that includes the biography of the author :-). The words go like this:

    1. God moves in a mysterious way
    His wonders to perform,
    He plants his footsteps in the sea,
    And rides upon the storm.

    2. Deep in unfathomable mines
    Of never-failing skill
    He treasures up his bright designs,
    And works his sovereign will.

    3. Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take;
    The clouds ye so much dread
    Are big with mercy, and shall break
    In blessings on your head.

    4. Judge not the Lord by feeble sense,
    But trust him for his grace;
    Behind a frowning providence
    He hides a smiling face.

    5. His purposes will ripen fast,
    Unfolding ev’ry hour;
    The bud may have a bitter taste,
    But sweet will be the flow’r.

    6. Blind unbelief is sure to err,
    And scan his work in vain;
    God is his own interpreter,
    And he will make it plain.

    William Cowper, 1774

    Hope this encourages you this morning!

    You’re in our thoughts and prayers–every day.


Leave a Reply

