Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

Southend People November 3, 2008

Filed under: Random,Update — Sarah @ 11:34 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I was lead to believe that people in the south were a lot less friendly than those in the North. After 9 weeks and 5 days of living in Southend, I can tell you that, that is not true of Southenders! I have found them just as friendly as most Northerners. There is that ‘talking over the garden fence’, the helping your neighbour in need (my next door but one neighbours workman gave me a jump start last week when my car died) and the friendly chatter from workmen (the BT man asked me out on a date and the plumber just sat and chatted for a good half hour!) Southend is friendly on the whole!

And . . .I’m off to Lancaster on Wednesday! I am very excited. I’m taking a couple of days holiday to spend with my mum and other friends and then I’m being a CUG (Christian Union Guest) at the mission week of Univerity of Cumbria. (A mission week is a week of events put on by the Christian Union to explain to their friends and coursemates about Jesus and his message). It will be great to go back but it’s quite scary how quickly it has come around! It only feels like a couple of weeks since I got here, but it’s been nearly 10! Scary!

 

Leave a Reply

