Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

The far far north! January 22, 2009

So, I have been in the far north for a week now which has flown by that is for sure!imag0246

First few days were a great chance to relax and see northern friends and family (as well as loosing a wisdom tooth 😦 ) But, sunday saw the start of the main reason for my northern trip – Lancaster University Mission Week!

This is my second mission week this year (both in Lancaster but at different Universities). Read about my first one here.

I planning on heading to bed soonish so this is going to be short but here is a brief update so far . . .

This is week one of a two week mission so it is less intense that the one at University of Cumbria in November but an average day is prayer with the whole CU at 9, CUG (Christian Union Guest) meeting and breakfast at 10. 11-1 is the main time for doign flyers and questionnaires which usually absolutly petrify me and the whole time I was a relay worker in Lancaster I hated it- the whole idea of stopping someone in the street to tell them what I believe is so so scary!! But this week I am loving it. It’s still difficult and still have to remind myself why I ‘m doing it but being able to get alongside the students and see them gain in confidence in doing them for the first time has been fantastic. Evenings are dinner parties with small group members and their friends and small group events including things like text a toastie.

The lunchbars so far have been really well attending with numbers starting at 75 on monday and reaching 111 today! They are being held in a marquee quite central to campus (which is pictured with the signs and me and Alex a student, showing off the FREE hoodies). I do still find it miraculous that people will come and listen to a 20 minute talk about the gospel and even ask questions! It’s just so bizarre (to my mind!) but it just shows how powerful the gospel is. I’ve been reminded over and over this week to not judge people in terms of who will and who won’t be interested in finding out more about it. There is no one too cool or sorted. So many people are willing to take FREE gospels as well which is amazing. Michael Ots, the speaker has been keeping his blog up to date with more info on lunchbars.

Being a CUG on this mission has been great (so far and don’t think it’ll change!) for seeing God work, having a bit more time to spend with individuals, but also to spend time with the other CUGs, a lot of whom I know but some I don’t and just talking honestly with them about living as a Christian is so encouraging.

Tomorrow night is my small group event which is free cocktails and a quiz at which I’m giving talk on ‘is the gospel relevant to me’ so watch this space  . . .

 

Leave a Reply

