Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

Bad Day January 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 6:11 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday was pretty rubbish. So rubbish that I actually ended up laughing (I think I’m still mentally sane!). Laughing because I’d gotten really stressed about a road being closed and adding 18 miles to a 12 mile journey which then caused me to miss a meeting with a student. This after I’d had to go back home after I’d set off for Luton because I’d forgotten my talk notes. I was really annoyed! But then I was stuck in traffic in Luton (completly lost because the diversion had brought me in a totally different way!) and a lady came and knocked on my car window which was more than a little scary. Winding down my window she told me that I had no brake lights . . ! Also a little scary to realise that I could have been involved in a serious accident given the amount of driving that I do!

Once I realised that (that was once I was sat in a garage having two brake lights fitted) I realised that there was nothing I could have done to have made the day better, but that i didn’t need to let it all get on top of me. I believe and trust in a God who is sovereign over all things (including road closures) and cares for me! Maybe it took driving through Luton for me to find out I was in danger of being in a serious accident, or God wanted to teach me something about Him being in control of all things or for me to realise that He can work without me . . . maybe all. Maybe something else. But I did realise all of those. And that I need to take looking after my car lights a bit more seriously.

 

Leave a Reply

