Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

So quick to forget February 3, 2011

Filed under: Christian Life — Sarah @ 10:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

If you asked me what God has taught me over the last year I think my first response would be that He’s been teaching me that He is good and He will always provide for me what I need. There are many occasions I could point to where God has provided miraculously.

And yet, when (very!) similar circumstances arose a couple of weeks ago my first response wasn’t to remember God’s goodness and all he has provided, but to panic! And I found myself driving home from CU this evening thinking all these things, but wondering would God answer my prayers fully, or would He just give me the bare minimum. What a stupid thing to wonder! Of course God will fulfil all of my needs, not only has he always done so, but He promised that he would!

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

What an amazing God –  he provides all we need, not want, but need.

 

One Response to “So quick to forget”

  1. emma Says:

    Hi Sarah

    Great reminder. Like you, I know in my head that God is good and that He loves me and will provide for me (and has done, repeatedly in the past)…and yet…every day I ‘forget’ and have a panic. I wonder if he’ll give me the bare minimum. Or I get the wants mixed up with the needs. But every thing I read of Jesus tells me of His incredible, boundless, overflowing love and generosity – it’s me that can’t handle it!

    Emma


Leave a Reply

