Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

Why it’s ok to stay in bed in mission week February 9, 2011

Filed under: Christian Life — Sarah @ 3:01 pm
Tags: , ,

We listened to this talk at Bedford CU’s meeting last night and I loved it. The title made me a little be sceptical . . . I mean it would be gutting if the whole CU stayed in bed for mission week. But after listening to it – if the reasons my CU’s stay in bed are the biblical ones that John lays out then that’s fine!

It was really good to be reminded that we don’t do mission to make a name for ourselves, to impress other people or to impress God. We do mission because God chooses to share His glory with us. What a privelege, and a timely reminder that in mission weeks I’m not trying to prove my worth or how good I am to anyone – especially not God as He has done everything for me.

Even if you’re not involved in student CU missions, it’s well worth a listen because in terms of evangelism it’s something that we all need reminding of!

 

Leave a Reply

