Living in a Field of Hats

some ramblings and reflections on working with students in Herts and Beds.

Probably July 27, 2012

Filed under: Random — Sarah @ 2:07 pm
Tags: , ,

Do you every catch yourself saying one or two words repeatedly? Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve noticed that I use the words ‘think’ and probably way too much (I’ve just deleted a ‘think’ from this post already!)

And, it’s not down to a lack of vocabulary that I overuse these words. I’ve realised that each time I use ‘probably’ or ‘think’ when I’m talking about myself, it’s to lessen the impact of what I’m saying. So, if I say ‘I probably spend too much time reading other peoples blogs’, I mean that I definitely do spend too long reading other peoples blogs, but the world probably there sanitises it somewhat.

And so, from now on, I’m aiming to cut them from my vocab. I want to be honest about myself and struggles and what God’s teaching me, without putting in the safety blanket. So, if you catch me saying them – call me on it!

What words do you overuse?

 

2 Responses to “Probably”

  1. Charissa Says:

    Thought provoking, thank you. I’m going to try and watch for what I say. x

  2. Glen Says:

    Very true – we often use those words to dull their impact – or to stop us thinking about what we’re really feeling. Mine are ‘really’ and ‘fine’. Sometimes together..!

    Emma (via Glen’s account)


Leave a Reply

